E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

1997 E320 Oil Filter Location / Oil Change Recommendations

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-14-2009, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 E320
Smile 1997 E320 Oil Filter Location / Oil Change Recommendations

Hey everbody, I'm a rookie, just recently got my first Mercedes, a 1997 E320. So far, everything is great, but now it's time to do my first oil change. I took a look last night in the engine compatment but couldn't quickly locate the oil filter. I'm assuming it's up top and I need to remove the engine cover, but wanted to check first. Am I correct?

Secondly, I was considering using Mobil 1, 0W-40, ilo conventional, which is in there now. I have seen threads on this already, but was wondering what you think? Engine has 163,000 miles and is running great!

Also, what filter? The Mobil 1 website says to use a conventional filter, not a special Mobil 1 extended life. Is a Fram OK (it's what my local auto supply carries) or should I use a MB oil filter?

Also, I'm debating getting an oil extractor ilo gravity draining due to some other threads I've seen. Is it difficult to gravity drain (i.e., do I need to remove underbody engine covers/ shields?).

Any help for this humble rookie would be appreciated!
Old 05-14-2009, 11:15 AM

e300d
M1 0W40 would be the correct oil. I really don't know about the filter or location on that engine which is the I6, right?

I'd buy OE-grade filters in bulk, 6 at a time, for example. You'll never find el-Crappo filters in my cars...way too expen$ive.

Welcome aboard!
Old 05-14-2009, 12:15 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Old 05-14-2009, 05:43 PM

1997 s320, 1997 e320
Originally Posted by diyman