E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

1999 E300 TD - Opinions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-03-2004, 10:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 E300 TD - Opinions

Folks,

I am a newbie to MB - I own (or have owned) one of pretty much every other brand with 4 wheels on it from Germany, but never a MB.

Lease on my 4.2 A6 is up and I am considering buying a 1999 E300 TD. I am tired of feeding 80 Litres of premium to the Audi every week.

Just wondered if anyone can offer some feedback on what you like or dislike about the E300 diesel. I test drove the car I am considering today, and I was very impressed with the performance of the 3.0 L diesel. This one has 155,000 km on it, which I suspect is just around break-in for this engine.

If anyone can offer tips on what I should be looking for in buying a used E300, I am all ears. Any mileage data others get on this vehicle I'd also be keen to hear about. Present owner says 45 mpg is not unusual.

Feedback on maintenance costs, such as brakes, turbo (heaven forbid if anyone has ever had to do one of those) or other major/minor repairs, I am keen to hear what sort of costs you have seen from a dealer on this sort of maintenance.

This one does not have Xenon lights but I presume these can be acquired after market, yes ?

Only thing that bothered me is the rear seats in this model do not fold down to offer more space for the trunk (I'm a skier and I like to carry them inside the car). There was also some minor rust around the trunk lock recepticle where the key is inserted, which MB apparently paid to fix. Outside of that it looks and drives fine.

Thanks in advanced for your assistance.

sw

Last edited by swebster; 05-03-2004 at 10:11 PM.
Old 05-03-2004, 11:24 PM

'71 280SE
I cannot recommend it. And with recent rampant quality problems, I wouldn't recommend the new E320CDI either.