E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Need good mechanic advice...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 02:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need good mechanic advice...

Hi guys. First post. I just got my coil springs replaced and the guy told me I would need a 4-wheel alignment. I took it to firestone and they told me they could not do the alignment because of the special tools needed. They recomended the dealership. I called a local MB dealership, and they quoted me $175 for the alignment. Which seems kinda high, but then again, I am new to MB. Is that a normal price, or would I be better off going to an independent MB mechanic?

Also, after picking my car up from the guy who did the suspension, now I am getting the dreaded "BAS/ESP/ABS" light. Could this be related to my recent replacement of the coil springs? Never got the light before. Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions. Glad to be on the board...
Old 02-17-2005, 03:17 PM

e320 99
that doesnt sound too crazy because MB dealership charged me $112 just for the charcoal filter.
As far as ABS light thing, make sure that your wires pluged in near your breaks, etc.
Old 02-17-2005, 07:38 PM

Mercedes W210 E280
Thats mighty pricey for a 4 wheel alignment...

Costs only like US20 here in Malaysia..but hey, we're a third world country.. alignment shouldn't be a major problem like all others..

In terms of your ABS/ESP light, could be
i.) your ABS sensor has gone kaput
ii.) Your brake switch has gone kaput

you'll need to get this checked my an MB personnel cause after changing the sensors it will involve resetting the ABS/ESP. Just did these recently for my car.
Old 02-19-2005, 12:20 AM

Well it looks like I will need to take it to the dealership.

Do yall think there is a connection between my recent coil spring replacement, and my sudden "BAS/ESP/ABS" light, or is just a terrible coincidence?