E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

Airmatic Suspension/Sway Bars

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-11-2006, 10:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 Toyota Echo (Twin Turbo)
Airmatic Suspension/Sway Bars

Sorry if this has been answered before. I did a search and found nothing.

I am new to the MB world (having come from BMW). I took a look under my E350 wagon (airmatic) and could not find any sway bars. I saw an end link connected to something but it did not appear to be a sway bar.

Do airmatic suspensions exclude a sway bar? If so, how do you lessen body roll? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I really do not know much about the airmatic suspension.
Old 04-12-2006, 10:23 AM

05 E500 Wagon
airmatic does indeed have sway bars...Brabus makes larger bars that are basically the same size as the bars that come stock on the E55
Old 04-12-2006, 12:23 PM

Thanks for the reply. Where do the sway bars go? I could not see a sway bar going across from wheel to wheel. Is it hidden by plastic covers?

Also, has anyone installed the Brabus sway bars and noticed a difference (everything else the same)?
Old 04-13-2006, 09:34 PM

Anybody with an Airmatic suspension install aftermarket sways?
Old 04-25-2006, 04:42 PM

Body Roll Issue

Hi. I am also a W211 newbie. I picked up my 2003 E500 about a month ago. It is gorgeous and I absolutely love it. I took it to the dealer to get it checked over and it is in great condition: all recall work done, no outstanding issues, etc. I originally said there must be something wrong with the suspension, because I've never felt so much body roll in a vehcile before. Is this normal. What can I do to have this evaluated?
Old 04-25-2006, 07:29 PM

2003 E500 SPORT
question-

Can you explain "body roll", I have a 2003 E500 and sometimes I feel like I'm rocking in a boat...=\
Old 04-26-2006, 05:11 PM