E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

My eyes are now open, My life now changed...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-08-2007, 10:01 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 338 Likes on 211 Posts
S560
My eyes are now open, My life now changed...

I picked up my E550 yesterday!! I got an '07 black with cashmere, p2, and the sport package. As a preface I have been driving GM trucks for 8 years with a few Vettes as a second car. All I can say is OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was excited as expected when I picked the car up, but I really was not ready for how amazing this car drives. It truely is a bank vault. The power handling, comfort, gadgets are all amazing. The car is so quiet and linear when it accelerates (I haven't floored it yet, I'm waiting for breakin to be over), the handling is flat and inspiring.

The reviews I have heard all faulted the handling abilities of the car, but I think they have it quite wrong. Its abilities are better than expected for a luxury sedan. I have drivin' many pure sports cars and I can say I used their handling limits only a handful of times. More often if I was driving aggresively it was still only at 80-90%. This car fits the mold of the average sporty driver who wants great performance on tap, but for most of the time wants that confident but comfortable drive.

I guess you can say my eyes have been opened, as this is my first German car. I quite honestly didn't know how great they drive