E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

'09 E350 - 7 or 5 speed trany?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 05:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'09 SL550; '09 GL550; '11 E550
'09 E350 - 7 or 5 speed trany?

I need to make a decision soon on which '09 E350 to move into for the next 36 months and would like some feedback. I've been driving an '07 E350 4M for the last 27 months and although I generally like the car I've grown frustrated with the lagging performance of the older 5-speed trany in the 4M. The 5-speed has some flat spots getting started and downshifting and I really have to hit the gas to get it going, then it moves but can kick back sometimes. Urgh! I was able to drive an '08 with the 7-speed trany recently and it felt like a completly different car. It shifted smoother and felt quicker as I expected it would. My daughter has an '08 C300 4M which comes with the 7-speed and 230 hp and I swear its feels quicker than my E350 4M! The 7-speed trany is just matched so well with these engines I guess.

I live on LI,NY where we don't get much too snow in the winter and when we do get snow the roads get cleared quickly anyway. Ice is ice and no car will do well in that. I'm not that worried about the rain either as I don't drive like an idiot and rely on the extra two wheels of traction.

I would appreciate comments from those that have had or driven both just so I know its not me! Thanks for the feedback.
Old 12-08-2008, 05:24 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
2017 GLC 300 4Matic
Seven speed..........................

My 09 BlueTEC has the seven speed trans and it handles the torque very well. Much smoother shifting than ever before.
Old 12-08-2008, 05:38 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
2015 ML 350
I live on L.I. & drive an E550 7 Speed. I wouldn't even consider a 4WD Sedan because the benefits don't outweigh the Cost/weight for our climate & work conditions. (1/2 inch of snow equals a trip to the Supermarket & a day off)