E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

DIY: Replacing front subframe Question

Old 11-18-2009, 06:24 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
makes your daughter horny
DIY: Replacing front subframe Question

I know this is probably a stretch but has anyone done this before? Is an engine hoist required? It appears that you could just support the engine by the oil pan?

I bottomed my car (2004 E320) out and very minorly bent the front subframe. Im pretty sure I have been driving like this for several months and haven't noticed it so I could probably leave it, but I'd like to fix it if I can.

Any help would be appreciated,
Old 11-18-2009, 08:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
2010 ML550, 2010 E350 4M, 1966 Corvette Convt C2
This is not a DIY backyard repair. Have it done correctly by professionals.
Old 11-19-2009, 08:05 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
sold - w211 e320, f250, rx7 race car
Have MB dealer fix it and file a claim with your insurance company, they will pay. It doesn't have to be a body panel that is damaged for insurance to pay during an accident. Bent subframe or bent wheels even qualify - of course the damage should exceed your deductible and since the claim will be relatively minor rates should not be affected.
Old 11-19-2009, 07:50 PM

Got the new subframe in, supported the engine by the engine pan with a bottle jack. Fairly easy job.

Does anyone have a DIY for the thrust arm bushings? Mine are completely shot. Whats the trick for getting the ball joint out of where it connects to the (steering knuckle?). A big hammer? I fear a pickle fork would destroy the ball joint and since I dont plan on replacing the whole arm I dont want to do that.

Also, do the complete arms from mercedes come with the bushings already pressed in? It may be easier just to buy the arms so I dont have to deal with pressing the bushings in and out.
Old 11-20-2009, 03:54 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2010 ML350 GAS 4Matic
Originally Posted by W Cole