E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

Brake Pad Wear Sensor Question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 10:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 e500
Brake Pad Wear Sensor Question

Hello everyone,noob here..2003 e500..I changed Brake rotors,pads and wear sensors all the way around..I noticed the Left front wear sensor was different than the other two (RF and RR)..The sensor mounted in the LF pad hole closest to the rotor. It doesnt make sense because it is going to hit the rotor before even 50% is gone..Any ideas?
Old 04-21-2011, 07:06 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2006 E320CDI
It is designed to do that. It will alert FSS that the pads are at 50%. Why is a good question -- need to get that answer from the engineers.
Old 04-21-2011, 08:35 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
03 E320 -wife's car now; 07 Porsche Boxster S - my toy
Originally Posted by trvcampbe
Hello everyone,noob here..2003 e500..I changed Brake rotors,pads and wear sensors all the way around..I noticed the Left front wear sensor was different than the other two (RF and RR)..The sensor mounted in the LF pad hole closest to the rotor. It doesnt make sense because it is going to hit the rotor before even 50% is gone..Any ideas?
It's what edwinwalke said -- it's designed to do that. Here's some more info from a MB site.

Regards,
paul
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
BrakeWearSensors.pdf (103.3 KB, 1758 views)
Old 04-21-2011, 12:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
04 E320 4 Matic, 95 Audi S6, 99 Carrera 4 Cabrio, 12 Fiat 500 Sport, 00 BMW R1200C 10, BMW R1200R
Originally Posted by paulv
It's what edwinwalke said -- it's designed to do that. Here's some more info from a MB site.

Regards,
paul
This is good to know and makes sense. My car has just under 70K miles on it and no sensor has been tripped yet. The rear brakes ARE getting worn down much quicker than the fronts though.