E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

W211 Rear Wheel/Subframe/Knuckle Damage, Need Help!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-22-2015, 12:11 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
2006 E320 CDI
Question W211 Rear Wheel/Subframe/Knuckle Damage, Need Help!!!

Hello guys,

I'm new to forums and this would be my first post. I am a weekend mechanic and deal mostly with replacing maintenance components. I don't have a garage and do all of my work in the street.

After my BMW 325xi got hit from behind and totaled, I purchased a 2003 W211 E320. After having the car for less the a month, it got clipped while parked in the street overnight, Christmas night ...

I did not have full coverage to cover the damage and decided I would try to fix it rather than sell it as is. From the pictures you can see the bumper damage but what you can't see is that the rear left wheel is now moved slightly forward and when you lift the car it almost touches the front inside of the wheel well. I thought I would be one of the control arms and purchased a set on eBay for $100.

Now that I lifted the car, I can't see any obvious damage (like i thought I would) and don't want to just start replacing parts without taking some measurements or getting some help.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to check if the subframe or other components are out of shape? It took a pretty nice hit and I'm wondering if I should get a used subframe with all the suspension components already attached. I never had to deal with this type of damage and while I'm waiting for my triple square socket set to arrive I figured I would reach out and try to get some help.

If anybody needs more pictures or information, I will try my best to get it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks
Kamil