Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-04-2005, 05:26 AM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E500, 2001 Porsche Boxster
Talking Finally an E500 Owner! Some comparisons and observations

Hello,

Well as some of you know, I've been contemplating my E500 purchase for the past 2-3 months, after not being able to find an 04, I went ahead and ordered an '05. But as things worked themselves out, I managed to find an 04 at a really great price. Just as a reference point, I've had a 98 LS400, 00 323i, 00 Jetta, 04 Mazda3 (don't ask), 01 540 and currently also have an 01 Boxster. Since only the 540 is the closest in year and class, I have some observations to compare it to.

I've had it for several weeks now and it's an absolute blast. I find that the Adaptive air suspension is great for almost eliminating body lean on curves--it's like having more than one car! Though in all fairness, I feel that the 540 handled nose diving and the like better... (it almost had none--and the suspension was just as compliant, though it would lean more in turns).

The active Curve illumination for the Xenons are ridiculous, it took a little getting used to during the first 10 miles, now whenever I get in other cars, I look for it! It's such a simple concept that makes such a difference.

Thanks to "brav" I started looking for the Panorama moonroof and am very happy with it (the car I ordered had the regular one), if anything, it makes for a unique "cool" factor, and coupled with a power rear sunshade, I can still darken the car when I'm in that mood.

"hlkc" also recommended the power trunk, another nice toy to play w/ (I like opening it at a stop when in front of friends and then closing it again, get's a big laugh!). And actually, with the recent rains, it's come in handy, I do like how it opens all the way, yet how you can also control how high it goes.