E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Sat nav traffic symbols help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-23-2014, 02:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E220 AMG
Sat nav traffic symbols help

I am very new to Mercedes after ditching the 3 year old A6 for my new E220 AMG. I'm loving the Merc but would like to ask: in the top right hand corner of the sat nav (bear in mind I am in the UK so this is right hand drive) there is a vehicle symbol and a small row of squares. I am assuming this is 'at a glance' traffic information but I can't find any information in the manual to help me interpret it.
If anyone could help it would be really appreciated.
Old 01-23-2014, 07:50 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2011 E550, 2008 SL55 AMG
Originally Posted by Yorkmeister
I am very new to Mercedes after ditching the 3 year old A6 for my new E220 AMG. I'm loving the Merc but would like to ask: in the top right hand corner of the sat nav (bear in mind I am in the UK so this is right hand drive) there is a vehicle symbol and a small row of squares. I am assuming this is 'at a glance' traffic information but I can't find any information in the manual to help me interpret it.
The symbols are most likely defined in literature from the satellite traffic service provider - just guessing but it's likely to be Sirius/XM in UK too - try their web site.
Old 02-08-2014, 09:44 AM

Received 64 Likes on 37 Posts
E300-4matic
USA Traffic a shown on Command screen

Here in the USA you can get a traffic package from XMSirius for $65 a year that shows current traffic conditions in your area that show up on your Command Nav map as follows, red squares mean heavy traffic, yellow mean moderate traffic and no symbols mean no traffic, of course. It's a decent traffic indicator but not great as I have been in traffic jams that never show up on my Command Nav screen at all.
Old 02-08-2014, 03:23 PM

2013 E350 BlueTec, 2011 VW Jetta TDI