E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Time to wax again

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-17-2019 | 08:25 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2020 GLS450 / 2024 Ford Bronco / (former) W212 4-matic 350 sport package
Time to wax again

It’s been 2 years, time to spend a weekend with the car. As usual, I will fully claybar every square inch of the car, including the wheels. In the past, I’ve done two coats of mequires polish and two coats of mequires wax with a basic 10 inch random orbital. This method has allowed my cars to shine for about two years before needing it again. The claybar makes all the difference.

But I’m intrigued by a different product for the final coat. And considering my car is black (which I presume is a “soft” paint), I’m a little cautious. I’m still going to claybar and polish, but thought I might try this for the final wax.

anyone ever try this stuff before? Thoughts and/or suggestions? I’m not a pro, but slightly above the weekend warrior. Amazon reviews seem to love it.

CarGuys Hybrid Wax Sealant - Most Advanced Top Coat Polish and Sealer on the Market - Infused with Liquid Carnauba for a Deep Hydrophobic Shine on All Types of Surfaces - 18 Ounce Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06Y5KQSKF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_fWfQDbN41VYCF
Old 10-17-2019 | 09:23 AM

2012 E350 sedan
For several years, Consumer Reports rates Nu Finish paste as the best, longest lasting car wax. No one else comes close. Mequires NXT and Gold Class liquids produce a slightly better shine but don't last nearly as long. No rating on Car Guys
Old 10-17-2019 | 09:37 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2015 E400 Sedan
"SOFT" paint?? sounds like an excuse a detailer would use.

paint is paint only thing different is color and then topped with clear coat unless MATTE which has different all together.

Black is a PIA since it will show any defect easier then say a white.
Old 10-17-2019 | 09:49 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2014 E550-sold 😩
I only use Turtle Wax ICE products on all my cars. That's it.