E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

ILS (Full LED) Headlight Retrofit on Facelift W212 DIY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2020, 07:03 PM

Received 181 Likes on 112 Posts
2016 E350 Sport; Mom Wrecked the 2008 E350; sold the 2002 C320
ILS (Full LED) Headlight Retrofit on Facelift W212 DIY

After months of reading countless threads and web pages about upgrading from static LEDs to full LEDs and practically no definitive answers, let me tell you that yes, it can be done - I have achieved this upgrade and I will provide the answers for you here.

The purpose of this thread will be to provide a DIY guide on what is needed and how to get it done. It took me nearly a year from start to finish and I am hoping to help you do what took me months in only a day or two once you have all the necessary parts in hand.

Please know that I am no MB tech, shop or vendor. I am an average DIY layman sharing what I did for informational purposes. I am by no means endorsing any product or service and any information offered is for you to proceed at your own risk - especially with coding which can render your car useless so again, BEWARE - USE THIS INFO AT YOUR OWN RISK.
I'll be working on this thread in snippets as time allows, so please be patient with me. I will also be editing information as I see fit to better clarify, so you might want to re-read if I have edited since you last looked.

There's already a lot of valuable info on the LED Headlights thread here (link to LED Headlights) that will be useful for you and I will be repeating some of it here. In the thread provided there is also some info on aftermarket full LED options for those of you who want to consider a more cost-effective alternative. Given the cost of OEM components, it might be what's just right for you.

First thing you should know is that I am talking about the FACELIFT W212 (2014-2016) - mine is a 2016.