E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023

Are perforated brakes supposed to make noise?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-01-2019, 02:23 PM

Received 59 Likes on 51 Posts
2019 E450 Cabriolet, 2020 GLS450
Are perforated brakes supposed to make noise?

So I've been complaining to the MB dealer for months that my 2019 E450 Cabriolt makes a ticking noise while moving. The cadence of the ticking noise is directly proportional to the speed of the car. If you apply the brakes, the ticking noise diminishes. If you let up on the brakes, the noise comes back.

For three separate service visits on this, the shop foreman kept talking down to me like I was an idiot and said he couldn't hear anything. Finally, I waited over an hour today and instead someone else, who didn't treat me like a complete moron, to ride with me. I ended up taking the service manager for a ride in my car. This service manager heard the noise right away (maybe the shop foreman needs a different job if he cannot hear problems with a car).

So, the service manager tells me the noise is normal and is because of the high performance slotted front rotors on this car. He said the sound is literally the pads brushing against the perforations. Now, I'v never owned a car with "high performance slotted rotors" before.... but I'm having a difficult time believing that a car that clocked in just shy of $100,000 is supposed to make a audible ticking noise. Also, not a auto mechanic, but WHY would the brake pads even be touching the rotors unless my foot was on the brake pedal????

So.... to the folks here.... am I wrong? Is the MB Dealer trying to sell me a bill of goods here and telling fibs to get me to drop it? (Full disclosure... the service manager did say they would inspect to see if somethings out of alignment on the pad/rotors and if I want he will replace the pads and rotors on both front wheels.

Last edited by sackboydad; 10-01-2019 at 02:29 PM.
Old 10-01-2019, 03:19 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!