Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

What's wrong with this pricing picture ?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-15-2004, 02:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What's wrong with this pricing picture ?

Is car getting much cheaper nowaday ? At least relatively company to everything else ?

I graduated in '96, making $42.5K/year out of school (good deal back then). As in '97, I was making $47K/year, and bought my house for $220k. With 10% down (enough to pay cash for a Camry), payment & tax for the house was $1650/month. A '96 S500 back then cost mid $90K, and lease payment would be around $1500/month. Anyway, I can either afford mortgage payment, or a car lease payment, but not both. A decent one bed room apartment cost around $800/month then. A dinner for two cost $40 at Maccroni or Malgiano. Vacation to Hawaii for two persons ran about $3000, 2 months of car payment.

Houses in my neighbohood, similar to mine, now run about $700-$750K. With 10% down (enought to pay cash for a new Mercedes), mortgage and tax would be $4800. A lease for a S500 now run about $1200 month. Even with salary of $122K/year, I can barely afford mortgage payment if I buy the house now, but can easily afford the S500 (or any car, except for the exotic) lease payment. A decent one bed room apartment now rund about $1200/month. A dinner for two cost $50 at Maccroni or Malgiano. A vacation to Hawaii now run about $3000, 2 1/2 months of car payment.