GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

ok, first 1000 miles on my GL320cdi, here's what I think

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-02-2007, 09:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
06 CLS500
ok, first 1000 miles on my GL320cdi, here's what I think

Finally took delivery of my 08 GL320cdi. Black on black, P1, blah blah. Anyway, I've been driving a Nissan Armada for the last 2 years. I picked up my GL Friday about 3pm, and its got 1,000 miles on it as of 3pm today (Tuesday), so here's what I think so far and things I like and don't like.

First off, I got a rock chip in the windshield at about mile 5, before I even got on the friggin road, so you may wanna opt for the Diamond shield or whatever the hell they call it.

Although quieter than the Armada, I don't think its as comfortable on a long drive. Maybe its because the Armada is 2x the size and everyone sits 3 ft apart, lol. 250 miles and I'm a little worn, it may be cause I'm still not used to the controls and seat adjustments. No real complaints.

Nav is a bit tricky, can't target a spot on the map and let it direct you. Also, you can't see county/side roads off the main highways unless you are at 1 mile radius.

Although I can't find in in the manual, the little lights on the dash and the rear (for parktronic) are helpful, they even go on when I get close in moving traffic. Rear camera works well for backing up too.

Going over bumps the sound is muffled, but sort of pounds at your eardrums (maybe its too muffled)... I still haven't figured that one out yet.

For 08, the center console doesn't have the small section, just the big one. The HF kit is of to one side of the console. Very little room. My wallet, a pen or two, I have more room in the tail of my Ducati. lol

The adjustable height only stays up till about 45 mph, then goes back down to lowered (standard) height. I guess its for safety/stability reasons, same as the Range Rover.