GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Towing and tires

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-28-2018, 04:52 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
2010 GL350
Towing and tires

So I am literally dictating this as I drive. Towing my Airstream from Miami to Vermont and I just had to replace two tires in Jacksonville Florida. The only tires the right size were michelins. I have always used the Bridgestone Dueler since the original Goodyear.
The michelins are not run Flats. That's okay because I think it's easier to pull out a nail and plug the tire and it is to change the tire.
but here's my problem. For the first time ever, I feel like I need sway bars. When the cruise control is on, it starts swaying enough that the onboard computer selectively brakes certain tires because the ESP kicks in.
I have been Towing this trailer for almost 4 years and I never before had a problem with Sway. And it's not even windy right now. could the Michelin sidewalls be that much less stiff that the rear end sway's that much more?
apologies for the weird capitalization in this message, but that's what you get for hands-free dictation
Old 05-28-2018, 05:19 PM

2010 GL350
I should mention that the new michelins went on the rear. The rear suspension is in good shape. All replaced with arnott in the last 6 months.

if I had not driven the first half of today with zero problems, I would not be so quick to attribute it to the tires. But that's all that has changed. Unless they did something to the suspension when they replaced the tires
Old 05-28-2018, 05:26 PM

Received 139 Likes on 124 Posts
2015 ML350, 2021 BMW X3, 1991 190E
Can't answer your problem, but you did the right thing by putting the new tires on the rear and on the same axle. I would make sure they have the same air pressue could be critical in this case. Not sure what pressure you run, but it should be on the high side. Keep us posted, this is scary.
Old 05-28-2018, 07:27 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!