Removing adjustable/adaptive shock absorbers

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-15-2019, 05:21 PM

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
2006 ML320 CDI (2 of) and 2008 GL320
Removing adjustable/adaptive shock absorbers

I am new to X164 but have played with w164 for a while

I have 2 normal suspensions ML (Daughter and Wife) but now I have a new to me airmatic (bought at auction so ironing out the bugs still).

One of the rear shockies is shot (totally oily and wallows)

I replaced the rear shockies on one of the other (normal) ML's a few years back with Monroe D8081 (by memory) but it only has normal (not adjustable) shockies

I am happy with the ride etc on that ML , and they are only about $160 AUS a pair, versus $2000 a pair for adjustable from Merc.

I have not found another aftermarket supplier here in Australia (I go on to Arnott in USA but they say not available for Australia, I can't even get a price) - EBAY have Chinese ones but I don't know if I am that brave..

If I change out the adjustable for non adjustable (Monroe D8081 etc) will I get an error code/warning on the dash? Will the front shockies still be adjustable? (I figure I am stuck with the fronts as the airbag is on the strut)
Old 04-15-2019, 10:35 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 148 Likes on 135 Posts
2010 Mercedes GL450; 2000 Mercedes ML55 AMG; 2016 VW GLI SEL Stick!!!
Originally Posted by wannawagon
I am new to X164 but have played with w164 for a while

I have 2 normal suspensions ML (Daughter and Wife) but now I have a new to me airmatic (bought at auction so ironing out the bugs still).

One of the rear shockies is shot (totally oily and wallows)

I replaced the rear shockies on one of the other (normal) ML's a few years back with Monroe D8081 (by memory) but it only has normal (not adjustable) shockies

I am happy with the ride etc on that ML , and they are only about $160 AUS a pair, versus $2000 a pair for adjustable from Merc.