GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

New GL320 Owner, question about coolant hoses

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-05-2019 | 03:21 AM

GL320
New GL320 Owner, question about coolant hoses

Hey everyone, sure am glad I found this forum! So I've always wanted a MB but it never really fit into my budget. To get around this I decided to buy a wrecked 2009 GL320 from an auction. Unfortunately I don't have any autobody or painting skills so I will definitely have some learning to do. But if watching youtube videos was a good teacher, I'm basically a pro now! All joking aside, I have a major learning curve ahead of me.

Anyways, before I can start ordering the parts I need to fix this thing I have to figure out what I have and what I need. I am really hoping someone can help me out with this.

In the terrible photo that I have posted below, you can see a coolant hose. That hose comes off of the bottom part of the expansion tank, then goes through some sort of plastic thing (clearly I don't know what it is) and then heads downwards. As you can see there is a TT fitting and both of the hoses coming off of it have been cut. Can anyone tell me where these two hoses go? I have watched every youtube video video I find about cooling systems, bumper removal, inner fender removal just to try and catch a glimpse of the lines or what they go to. I have also searched these forums and looked at the MB service manual.

If anyone can shed some light on this for me it would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you very much

Old 09-07-2019 | 11:22 AM
Out Of Control!!
MBWorld Ambassador

2017 GLE350 4MATIC
Can you please provide more photos and context? The plastic item appears to be the recirculation pump.

Spend some time looking at the diagrams here:
https://www.mercedesbenzstarparts.co...and-components
Old 09-07-2019 | 12:35 PM

GL320