GLC Class (X253) Produced 2016-2022

Has Anyone Replaced Their Run Flats?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-13-2016, 08:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLC300 4matic
Has Anyone Replaced Their Run Flats?

I have come to the conclusion that the only real issue I have with my 4 month (4K miles) old GLC300 is the run flat tires. Yes I have a couple of small issues, like screeching breaks in reverse, but overall I love the car. My major issue is with the run flats and I am not sure if they can be replaced with a more traditional tire.

The car was delivered with the tires over inflated and the ride was very skippy when hitting potholes or bumps in the road. I reduced the pressures and the ride became much more compliant. Now that the weather in Texas has turned a little colder the run flats have become a real pain as they lose considerably more pressure with sudden temperature drops than any standard tire I have ever had. As is usual here the temperature went from 35 one day to 75 the next and the tires gained way more pressure than I am used to on this warm day. They went up 6 PSI and once again the ride became jittery. Seems to me that this will be a constant battle and the run flats just are not a good tire overall.

At this point I am thinking of replacing them and getting a pump/goo kit at the same time in case I get a flat in the future.

So has anyone replaced theirs and what were your results?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
Old 12-13-2016, 11:46 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 159 Likes on 150 Posts
2016 GLC300 Dakota Brown on Espresso Brown Leather, 2014 C250 Sport Diamond Silver
You can definitely replace with regular tires. You will still have issues of pressures changes with change in temperature. I have had this problem with all of my cars irregardless of tire type or make.
Old 12-13-2016, 12:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLC300 4matic
Originally Posted by dieseldoc