GLC Class (X254) Produced 2023+

Does MBUX send telematics data back to the mother ship?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-13-2024, 01:04 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
GLC300
Does MBUX send telematics data back to the mother ship?

There was an article in the NYT yesterday how a guy saw his insurance rate go up unexpectedly across all providers. He was able to trace it to a decision by GM to sell telemetry data to LexisNexis which in turn soldmit to insurance companies as a FICO score of sorts.

Now it turns out that Ford has been in the same business since 2020. When I went looking through the settings I discovered that this feature has been enabled on my Bronco which gives Ford pretty broad powers to eff me over

As a CA resident I have requested my report from NexisLexis and have also requested that they stop collecting future data and delete whatever data they have on me.

Now I am worried that my wife's GLC is pulling a similar trick and MB may have exhibited the same poor judgement as Ford and GM. What is the best way to kill all telematics data transmission.on the GLC. Software options? Pull a fuse on the telematics unit? I can easily live without OTA and I am not paying for other connected services anyway.
​​​
Old 03-13-2024, 01:41 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 970 Likes on 745 Posts
G550
When you sign into apps such as MercedesMe or myBMW, and you see all the statistics about your vehicle, such as its mileage, GPS coordinates, door lock status, etc., it doesn't take much imagination to ask yourself "I wonder if they're tracking my cellphone use and listening to my conversations too?" And some car companies like MB expect you to pay them for this.
The following users liked this post:
OldManAndHisCar (03-13-2024)
Old 03-13-2024, 08:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2023 GLC 300 SUV, 2006 BMW Z4M Roadster, 2006 Lexus RX400h
There’s a setting in the app to to allow analytics, turn it off.
Old 03-13-2024, 10:28 PM

Received 191 Likes on 142 Posts