Sponsored By:

Prospective GLE300d Buyer: Some Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-19-2016, 02:15 PM

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
2017 GLE 350 4Matic
Prospective GLE300d Buyer: Some Questions

Hi there. Newbie here to Mercedes Benz in general and this forum. I'm moving from an Audi Allroad. I've narrowed in on buying the GLE 300d as I really want better fuel economy. I've heard (but having a hard time confirming) that the 300d doesn't come with a spare tire and that the only option for tires is run flats. Is that true?
Old 05-19-2016, 06:01 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,099 Likes on 805 Posts
A gaggle of MB's
Well, frankly you need to test drive a GLE - I think you will be very/very impressed.

In answer to your question - the GLE300d comes with what you would term "standard tires" including "spare tire" EXCEPT if you were to order/add the B&O extreme stereo upgrade, where that added electronics equipt takes up the rear space for the spare tire - which means you go spareless - either by ordering Extended Mobility tires (the new/better riding/handling updated generation of what you term "Run Flat") - or with Tire Fit kit for on-the-road spot temp repair for "standard" tires.

Again - I suggest you take the advantage to go hands on with a GLE
Old 05-19-2016, 07:05 PM

2017 GLE 350 4Matic
Yes, agreed. I'm not buying the GLE 300d until I test drive it. I did some browsing/inspecting of GLEs a month or so ago the local dealer. They don't have 300d to test drive so gotta widen my radius. I don't want to just test drive the gasoline GLE either.

Thanks for the answer. So unless I go high end on the B&O audio option I should be ok. Is there a lower tier B&O option that doesn't have the added electronics taking up rear space? I have B&O audio in my Audi and love it so it would be a pity if only B&O option takes up space for spare tire.
Old 05-20-2016, 01:31 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

A gaggle of MB's