Sponsored By:

Newbie - 2016 GLE 350?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-13-2019, 05:31 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
SL500
Newbie - 2016 GLE 350?

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie to purchasing a vehicle, so please do excuse if anything is repetitive/basic to this forum.

My husband and I are thinking of trading in our trusty 2005 SL500 at Carmax (they gave us the highest value) for a more family friendly 2016 GLE 350 2WD. Carmax has this GLE for just under $40K+tax, and mileage is just under 10K. Carmax and Carfax both report only one owner, was a leased car, no accidents or structural damage, with history just comprising multiple tire condition and pressure checks, as well as two annual front/rear wiper blades refill/replacements. The car is being transferred (we are in Las Vegas), and I'd get it inspected by an independent third party mechanic during the trial period, but other than that - does everything look ok to you? I've done some online comps, but can anyone please verify if this is a good deal? Based on your experiences with this SUV, is there anything else I should look out for? My husband bought the SL500 preowned with low mileage (and no warranty!) but we've never had any problems, thankfully...that said, I would like to be more diligent this time.

Also, I tried to go the CPO route but the closest dealership doesn't have any 2016s (just 2018s, pretty much at full price), and the other has a few options but with much higher mileage and price. So my guess is non-CPO it is...

Thank you in advance for the help!

Last edited by luckysk8s; 02-13-2019 at 05:34 PM.
Old 02-13-2019, 07:10 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4,006 Likes on 3,148 Posts
2017 GLE350 4MATIC
Price seems in the range based on a search at cargurus.

I bought a 2017 GLE350 4MATIC and it has been great so far. I have had no problems with the vehicle so far. I recommend buying prepaid maintenance because it is convenient and it gives price certainty.