question about 4matic system

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-06-2015, 05:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
X204 GLK350 4matic
question about 4matic system

Hey guys, I am new to Mercedes. I have a GLK350 4matic

Is this 4matic system considered a AWD system or a 4WD system? I think its AWD but honestly i dont even know the technical differences anymore lol
Old 09-06-2015, 05:58 AM

Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Very very slow
Originally Posted by mujjuman

Is this 4matic system considered a AWD system or a 4WD system? I think its AWD but honestly i dont even know the technical differences anymore lol

It is AWD.
Old 09-06-2015, 12:25 PM

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
2014 GLK250, 1983 Caterham super 7
Originally Posted by mujjuman

This should give your memory a little kick start. http://www.digitaltrends.com/cars/wh...l-wheel-drive/

Suffice it to say that if you want to go "off road" adding big tires to a GLK is futile and mostly an exercise in "looking the part".
Old 09-06-2015, 07:29 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,103 Likes on 808 Posts
A gaggle of MB's
Actually - GLK 4matic is All-Time-All-Wheel-Drove - ATAWD - as distinguished from other AWD systems that only "kick in" the other two wheels when sensors show losing traction -
Old 09-06-2015, 07:47 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
GLK350
Originally Posted by fabbrisd1
Actually - GLK 4matic is All-Time-All-Wheel-Drove - ATAWD - as distinguished from other AWD systems that only "kick in" the other two wheels when sensors show losing traction -
+1
Similar to Audi's Quattro. But 50/50 rather than 40/60 I believe. But don't quote me on the exact distribution.
Old 09-06-2015, 09:01 PM

2011 B-Class 200 Turbo
More for all weather conditions, like most "awd" cars on the road today.
Old 09-08-2015, 12:35 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2011 Mercedes GLK350 4Matic in White
From MB HQ-

From a WIKI 4Matic page: