GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

2015 GLK 350 Odd Transmission Behavior

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-05-2024, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2015 Mercedes-Benz GLK 350
2015 GLK 350 Odd Transmission Behavior

Hi guys. I am fairly new to the MB gang. I purchased my first beauty, a 2015 GLK 350, a few months ago. This car is awesome. Like freakin awesome. However…

I’d say about a month ago, I started to notice some odd shifting behaviors. This comes in 4 varieties…

1. The most noticeable. The upshift from 4-5 is terrible. I’m talking a jerk that everyone in the car can feel. It feels like I am getting thrown backward, then instantly forward. It almost feels like a momentary lapse in acceleration. Now I will say, it does not happen every time, maybe like 80%. It happens more noticeably in E mode, and it seems to happen more the longer I drive that trip, meaning the transmission is hotter. I have an iCarsoft, which I have used to reset the adaptations, which did help tremendously, but only for about a week, then the issue slowly returns. I am leaning towards software issue for this? Why would resetting the adaptations solve a hardware issue?

2. The downshift from 4-3 sometimes leads to a clunk. Not an audible clunk, but one that I could very easily imagine making a clunking noise. It’s a very different feeling that Problem 1 that I described above. There’s not the “momentary lapse in acceleration” like in the above, but honestly most a really clunky downshift. Resetting adaptations did not seem to fix much for this one, but they do a little.