M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Help! 02 ML320 Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-25-2006, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! 02 ML320 Questions

Hello,
I am new to this post and need your expertise. I am a first time owner of an 02 ML320. I purchased my MB from a non MB dealer and feel they are not familar with these cars at all. I returned the car to the dealer because the car idles loudly, the rear wiper turns on when I am in reverse, and the brakes are low. Is this normal? Please advise. Thanks in advance.
Old 04-25-2006, 08:00 PM

Q & R
Originally Posted by JenGeeML320
Hello,
I am new to this post and need your expertise. I am a first time owner of an 02 ML320. I purchased my MB from a non MB dealer and feel they are not familar with these cars at all. I returned the car to the dealer because the car idles loudly, the rear wiper turns on when I am in reverse, and the brakes are low. Is this normal? Please advise. Thanks in advance.
Glad to help, being the original owner of an 00.
But please elaborate:
idles loudly - is it a clackety sound you are concerned with? There are many ML320s with bad valve lifters. Mine clacks on occasion when starting up dry, low oil.
Rear wiper turn on in reverse - most likely the rear wiper is in the pulse position.
Brakes are low - the worst thing about the MLs are the brakes, they require a lot of travel and never feel "hard" - since day one. I believe this is prevalant in many MB models with the BAS.
Old 04-25-2006, 08:07 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2007 E63
Also to add to the wipers part. I don't know if the per-02's had it, but if the front wipers are on, the rear wipers will activate automatically if you put it in reverse. Neat little feature.
Old 04-26-2006, 06:11 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
2011 GLK350 P1, Multi-media & AMG Pkg; 2010 E350 w/ prem 2; 2018 4Runner SR5 Prem. 4x4
Originally Posted by AsianML