M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Suspected electrical issue..please read on..

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-20-2024, 05:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ML320
Suspected electrical issue..please read on..

Hello,
joined as I am at a loss with my current ML320 2002
developed intermittent starting issue ( not turning over first time)
eventually it now attempts to turn over, immediately does and then I have a pretty depleted battery. And the start error message on the dash
so the car has not gone anywhere
prior to this and maybe connected, if the vehicle isn’t driven everyday the battery will deplete
( have had 2 new batteries in the last 2 years)

initially replaced the started motor- nope
then the immobiliser module (ring and matchbox sized thing) -nope
not sure where to look next, fuses all ok
was going to check earths, as there seems to be a drain somewhere, but I’m not a mechanic, so trying to work through it.
any ideas on this please?
thanks in advance if anyone can offer help

Last edited by staggs; 05-20-2024 at 05:42 AM.
Old 05-27-2024, 03:37 AM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
ML320 W163 2000
Hi, I have had much the same problem, for a decade! My low cost solution is to keep the car trickle charged with a 20W 12V solar panel on the dash, plugged into the 12V power outlet in the footwell. This is active when the car is off, and so feeds in juice to the battery all the time. A 20W 12V PV panel is the largest that doesn't need a solar controller. For me, I think the mystery electrical short is either in the tow hitch electrics or the parking sensors, but being a) lazy and b) broke, a Ł40 solution seemed a good idea at the time! However, the PV panel will also charge up the battery from dead flat given enough time.

The long term idea was to put a 250W PV panel on the roof and run a big battery and inverter etc., for camping.
The following users liked this post:
staggs (05-27-2024)