M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

2010 ML350 - Pitting corrosion/rusting on metal trim

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-09-2010, 11:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 ML 350 4MATIC
2010 ML350 - Pitting corrosion/rusting on metal trim

My 2010 ML 350 (on the road Dec. 15, with less than 900 miles so far) has pitting corrosion/rusting on the metal trim on the door side panels and the rear bumper (both the luggage protector strip on top of the bumper, as well as the one on the lower part of the rear bumper - don't see any on the front bumper protector). This after only driving a couple of times in the past couple of weeks through snow cleared/de-iced roads in a small town in Northern Colorado.

Noticed the rusting after a few days of driving on the snow cleared roads and then it being parked in the garage. (I use a smaller car for most of my in-town driving)

As a corrosion prevention engineer, I see the reason for this rusting as the metal trim not being resistant to the road de-icing salts getting on the trim while driving through the slush.

Never had this problem on my previous (2008 E350 ) car that I turned in when I got the ML, after driving in similar conditions for the two winters here that I owned it.

So my questions:

1. Anyone else experienced this kind of rusting?
Forum search on "corrosion" only got a hit on corrosion problem with alloy wheels https://mbworld.org/forums/newthread...newthread&f=72 (post 13, 19, & 26)

2. Is this a problem with the metal trim not having a special coating ? (lacquer? as mentioned in the above referenced thread for the alloy wheels)or below spec chrome/steel used? (e.g. Type 314 stainless steel pits when exposed to salt sprays, Type 316 is more resistant and the one usually specified in marine environments)

3. Is it just a bad batch of trim that ended up on my car?