M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

ML350 BlueTec engine seized

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2015, 01:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2013 GMC Sierra Duramax diesel
ML350 BlueTec engine seized

it is my 1st Benz - I am a semi backyard mechanic

I received this 2010 - ML350 BlueTec , 10600 KM as a free gift -

* however no starter click or crank (the owner being advice by their MB Dealer engine is seized, buy a new one or need 25-30k to replace the engine)

* I tried 27MM socket on balancer pulley with breaker bar and cheater pipe, clockwise or anti-clock wise but... no go.

* is it hard to turn this motor by hand? is there any lock or some security feature in my way?

Now I'm thinking, remove starter motor and see if I can get engine to move.

this SUV is in excellent condition, I really hate to hand over to rack yard.

I removed oil cap and filter, yes its dark black some gooppy sludge, I can see how engine come to dead halt. again I would like to put some of my energy to free this beast,

My wallet is pretty much on low side, my energy level is high, so I am willing to work.

and where can I find a shop manual pdf for this?

need good instructions, advice from fine people just like You!

Thank you in Advance!

Joe

Last edited by ujtruck; 04-20-2015 at 11:12 PM. Reason: update model year and millage
Old 04-20-2015, 03:00 PM

ML350
Sounds like a score if you can bring it back to life. What year is it?

Keep us posted on progress
Old 04-20-2015, 03:28 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 320 Likes on 267 Posts
2007 W211 E350 4Matic / 2008 X164 GL320 CDI
BLACK oil is normal on these engines, but if the oil is "goopy", they either used the wrong oil or went way too long between changes.

If the engine is seized, assume you need a new short block (or whole engine) of are going to have to tear that one down and rebuild.
Start here (car-part.com), or here (copart.com) and ebay and maybe you will get lucky.