M-Class (W166) Produced 2012-2015

2014 Bluetec Rear Brakes

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-31-2019, 11:50 AM

Received 113 Likes on 98 Posts
Ml350 bluetec
2014 Bluetec Rear Brakes

Newbie here. I just DIY replaced new rear brake pads and rotors on my 2014 Bluetec. While changing the rear pads, I did noticed that the right rear pads were substantially thicker than the left rear pads implying the right rear were not working. I did not give it any thoughts and installed the new rotors and new pads. But now it seems like this rear right issue continues to be an issue. I have uploaded pictures of the left and right rotor showing the lack of pad engagement on the right side. I took the right caliper off again last night to re-grease the pads and slide pins and then took it for a test drive. After returning from the test drive, I used a temperature probe and found the left in the 150C temperature range and the right side in the 50-70C temperature range implying that the right side was not engaging.

Suggestions on how to resolve this issue would be most helpful. But it seems like I am looking at a new right rear caliper....If so are the calipers are to replace?

Left Rotor

Right Rotor
Old 08-01-2019, 09:22 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 3,983 Likes on 3,130 Posts
2017 GLE350 4MATIC
What is the history of this vehicle?

How long have you owned it?

How many miles are on it?

When were the brakes (front and rear) changed? Who did the work?

Do you have, or are you able to obtain, service documentation for the vehicle?

Please describe the sensation when braking. Noises, vibrations, etc.
Old 08-01-2019, 10:52 AM

Ml350 bluetec
Originally Posted by chassis
What is the history of this vehicle?

How long have you owned it?

How many miles are on it?

When were the brakes (front and rear) changed? Who did the work?

Do you have, or are you able to obtain, service documentation for the vehicle?

Please describe the sensation when braking. Noises, vibrations, etc.