M-Class (W166) Produced 2012-2015

A/C Expansion Valve Replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-17-2021, 06:13 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
ML350
A/C Expansion Valve Replacement

My A/C was diaged as needing the expansion valve replaced. It doesn't appear to be a difficult job but not a DIY. Has any other ML350 (166) owners had this repair done at an independent shop and what was the cost if you don't mind me asking- thanks!
Old 09-17-2021, 06:25 PM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
2021 E-350 Loaded
I am a HVAC professional, a TXV is NOT a DIY job.
A shop that specializes in A/C should be fine. A dirty messy 1 man shop I'd avoid.
NOTE: get a price from your dealer, you may be surprised when comparing prices to competition.
Generally a TXV replacement involves a new valve, new refrigerant dryer / receiver, o-rings, recovery, evacuation, and recharge.
Old 09-17-2021, 06:40 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
ML350
Thanks for your reply and professional advice- there any harm in not doing the repair as long as the a/c is blowing cold 90% of the time?
Old 09-18-2021, 08:00 AM

2021 E-350 Loaded
Originally Posted by mikepricephoto
Thanks for your reply and professional advice- there any harm in not doing the repair as long as the a/c is blowing cold 90% of the time?
When does the a/c fail the 10% of the time? On hot start-up or running down the road at speed?
That doesn't sound like a bad TXV.
Did they reclaim and weigh in the proper refrigerant charge?
I don't want to diagnose via forums but if a TXV is clogged or failed it doesn't start to work unless there is moisture in the system (freezes). I've seem them overfeed, start cooling fine then die or just be dead period.
Inexperienced techs will just add refrigerant without observing the high side.
The sad part is by replacing the TXV they'll likely inadvertently solve the issue because the aforementioned would have to be done regardless.