S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

Used Car Advice

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-17-2007, 10:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
420SEL
Used Car Advice

I'm new to Mercedes ownership, having recently bought a 1987 420SEL (a really big change from my previous 1983 Olds Gutless Cierra 4-banger). The body looks near perfect, it's very clean inside, motor & trans very smooth. It also shows about 177k miles, but I have found that the odometer was rolled back by 100k about 8 years ago, so the real total is 277k miles. So far, I have replaced the flex discs, thermostat, fan belts, engine air distribution hoses and motor mounts. Brakes are almost new, work fine, but sqeak like crazy. Gas mileage running about 15MPG, but I barely passed California smog (high HC). Heater blows air, but air is only slightly heated, temp gauge holds at 80C.

So, considering the age & true mileage, what else should I check? What else might I expect in the near future? Gimme a brain dump to help get me up to speed!

Thanks in advance!
Ed
Old 02-17-2007, 11:24 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
98 Black C43 , 08' ML320 CDI ,11 E63