S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

W126 Front Seat Rebuild

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-11-2005, 12:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W126 Front Seat Rebuild

My front seat on my 1984 500 SEL US Spec is in need of a rebuild. Does anyone know where you can purchase these rebuild kits I have read about?

Also, my front seat will only a go backwards, it will not go forwards. Bad servo???? It tilts both ways though. Any help would be appreciated.

I am fairly new to MB's. I have been a long time Rover and BMW fanatic.
Old 01-26-2005, 08:58 AM

1985 380SE
You'll love this article then. Apparantly the Range Rover switches are way more $$ than MB units! http://www.rangerovers.net/repairdet...atcontrols.htm
Your power seat problem is 90% in the switch, from what you describe. As for rebuilding the seat (bottom?), A new spring assembly and/or horsehair pad from a donor passenger side seat will freshen it up at minimal cost. I've actually had good results by inserting coil seat springs to firm it up and re-attaching the failed wires together with split tubing (or brake line - I used both I think) crimped over the wires. You can freshen up the feel with upholstery foam too, between the pad and the upholstery ribs.

Last edited by donbryce; 01-26-2005 at 01:44 PM.
Old 01-26-2005, 11:15 AM

'07 E320 Bluetec
Originally Posted by donbryce
You'll love this article then. Apparantly the Range Rover switches are way more $$ than MB units! http://www.rangerovers.net/repairdet...atcontrols.htm