S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

New 2000 430 Owner

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-29-2006, 11:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 S430
New 2000 430 Owner

Hello, I am a newbie to the Mercedes World. Just picked up a 2000 S430 for the wife (or atleast it was supposed to be) Its black on black, has a few scratches and had 89000K mile on it. I paid 22400 for it. Was that a good price? So far I have had to put new rotors and pads on the front. Then on the same day it broke down while my wife was driving it. There was a malfunction with the ignition switch. Was supposed to cost me 300+ dollars but the benz rep quoted me a price of 88 bucks and had to honor it. I am in love with this car. However, I am experiencing another issue. At the dealership when I bought it the car showed that it was 1qt low on oil. Which did raise a red flag since the dealer said they had just had it serviced. He topped it off and it seems ok until yesterday. The check level light came on and it was 2 quarts low. I have already heard some horror stories here on the S-Class models. Are oil leaks typical for Mercedes? Or can oil leaks be fixed relatively easily? Also, can someone tell me if I can just get some XEON light bulbs or do I have to get the whole lamp? Thanks.
Old 04-29-2006, 11:38 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
First, welcome to the board. There are several horror stories with the 00 s class and those end up costing more in repair than just the regular $22k that you paid for the car. It costs to drive a mercedes. You could pay it upfront or you could pay over time in repairs. You can get a cheaper 2000 model then spend alot of $$$$$$$$$$ on repairs or you could fork up a little more and get a more reliable 03 model and enjoy an almost trouble free ride.