S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Airmatic Air Compressor Relay Upgrade

Old 04-26-2014, 12:57 AM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
W204 C300 2010
Airmatic Air Compressor Relay Upgrade

After reading about various failures of the OEM Tyco branded Airmatic compressor relay problems. It seems that over time the Tyco relay contacts stick together causing the pump run continuously eventually burning up the air pump. A Hella brand relay is recommended as fix, but no specifications of the Hella relay are ever given. The pin configuration of the Tyco relay is common, actually very common, if you search for Bosch relay on the net, it will come up with many circuits and specification for a Bosch relay. Typically, Bosch style relays are used in the aftermarket car stereo business to control everything from fog light, fans, and alarms. I have been using Bosch style relays for over 20 years and have never encountered contacts sticking together and really have not seen a real failure if used within the max. current limits.

The Bosch relay is typically rated at 30 amps for load control, the Tyco and Hella relays most likely have contacts rated at 40 amps. So a basic Bosch style relay will not work.

I've replaced my Tyco with an 80 amp rated relay in the same basic configuration.

I found mine on Ebay, look for 12v 80 amp relay, there is even a 100 amp relay in the same style. If you can find a SPST type otherwise you will have an extra terminal that you will have to to remove by bending it back an forth.
The cost is around $5 if you buy more than one.

Here is a side view of the relay, a bonus is that it also has a LED inside that lights up when the relay is active.

Here is the bottom view of the relay I have, I had to remove center pin or terminal. Use needle nose pliers and bend the center tab back and forth until it breaks off. This will not damage anything inside of the housing.