S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

W221 S350L Stock Wheels Rubbing ??? Please HELP...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-10-2014, 05:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S350L
W221 S350L Stock Wheels Rubbing ??? Please HELP...

Hi Guys,

I'm quite new to the MB forums...although having said that i've been trailing these forums for quite some time now, fantastic people with fantastic rides and advice keep it up!

I have a 2007 S350L, i'm from the UK btw, fantastic car, however i've recently come across an issue with rubbing on my rear tyres which is driving me nuts Ok the scenario is, i have the stock 20" AMG rims on the vehicle, ET43, Fronts 8.5J with 255/35/20 and Rears: 9.5J with 275/35/20 running on Dunlop Sport Maxx GT. After reading the posts on this forums i decided i wanted a more aggressive stance on the rear wheels. Hence to cut a long story short i purchased some Hubcentric H&R 12mm spacers for the rears with the correct length bolts. I fitted these on the vehicle and they look fantastic, HOWEVER, upon test driving the vehicle with just myself driving, the rear wheels seem to catch or rub on something when i go through a harsh dip I'm quite confused because i know some of you guys are running 22" rims with much wider tyres and dont have issues.

I mean 12mm spacer is quite moderate and the tyres are not even 100% flush with the fender, could it be possible in anyway that the tyres are catching on the Metal Tabs that join on rear fenders? On close inspection, the metal tabs do stick out a little, but could they really catch on the tyres with the suspension compressed? It's not such a big deal to cut them off but before i do this, i just wanted to check with the knowledge of you people on this forum, could it be catching elsewhere like the fenders edge?

I doubt rolling the fenders would be required for 12mm spacers? or am i wrong...

Appreciate your advice PLEASE
Old 11-10-2014, 07:07 AM

S350L