S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

Whats your favorite thing about your new S550?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2015, 10:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S550
Whats your favorite thing about your new S550?

I ordered a S550 back in December. It has been produced and is waiting to be assigned to a ship. I've been waiting a week for ship assignment. I cannot wait to get this car as it will be my first Mercedes. I've been driving BMW's for the past 10 years or so. I've had two 7 Series, main reason I'm even willing to consider anything else really.

So, to pass the time and because I'm curious....please tell the board whats your favorite thing about your new S550? What have you found surprising? What have you found disappointing? How's the COMAND system? How has the break in gone? Did you order the Burmeister high end, if so how is it?

Especially interested to hear from those of you who have had previous generations of the S Class. Whats the biggest improvement? What could they have left out?

Thanks
Old 02-07-2015, 12:50 PM

'14 SL550
The best thing about the S550 is that MB nailed it. Unlike BMW which has done nothing but slide down the scale of driving and ownership enjoyment, MB has gone the other way and improved the driving and overall ownership experience. (I have had plenty of BMW's, not anymore, they have completely lost focus)
Old 02-07-2015, 02:44 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 345 Likes on 215 Posts
S560
I had a W221 and just traded in my 2012 F02. The 222 is just astonishing. Rides like a chariot on a cloud. Then hit the sport buttons and it unleashes beast mode. I have the regular Burn system which is excellent, I couldn't see spending the extra on the high end Burn. Command is substantially better, so much so I can't stand my wife's GL command.

It truly is a car that improved every single thing over the 221. The F01/02 7 series seems like a 10 year old car next to it...
Old 02-07-2015, 07:17 PM
MBWorld God!

Received 3,409 Likes on 2,852 Posts