S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

2016 Mercedes-Benz S 550 4MATIC Sedan buy or not?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-27-2023, 07:53 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
thinking about 18 s550
2016 Mercedes-Benz S 550 4MATIC Sedan buy or not?

total newbie to MB here. drove the car that has 71K and is $31 and loved it. great 4.7 turbo. but im leaving on vacation for a week and they wont hold it. on the surface it appears to be a great car. but i need all the warnings from the experts here. i always have my mechanic look at my car and he will be doing all the work on it. but it's the weekend and so cant talk to him much less get it in for inspection

carfax is clean and the dealer did all the work on the car since new including a front fender bender they said was minor. it was a corporate car and then i think changed title to the owner of the company.

im going to read this forum as late as my eyes will stay open but wondering your quick advice. gut wants it but says dont to buy it tomorrow cause you didnt get it inspected or even know about these cars. of course i most worry about the cost of upkeep and repair. i never wanted a turbo, i think they are expensive to repair. or not? my driving will be 10K a year or less in the future. i need all the help i can get . thanks! also while i can easily do the 30K car loan, i dont have the time nor money if this is going to be expensive to upkeep and thats my concern. i do my oil changes in my current car and except the trans its been pretty trouble free till over 200K.

edit: i did not look at the tires except to note they were michelins. he said same sizes front and back but thats not true is it? he said they were amg wheels. i honestly wouldnt know the difference. he printed out the build sheet and it says 18 inch tires which at least arent too expensive but that theres no spare is bugging me. so did the car come with amg or did the owner put them on. i kick myself for not looking at the tire sizes.