S55 AMG, S65 AMG , S63 AMG (W220, W221) 2001 - 2013 (Two Generations)

First DYI Mods for my S55

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 02:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'03 S55 AMG, '01 CLK55 AMG
First DYI Mods for my S55

Just completed several DIY mods. It's my first attempt at doing my own maintenance instead of taking it to the local dealer. The upgrades are as follows:

1. Green High Performance Air Filters

2. Oil Change with Mobile 1 0W-40 w/ FSS Reset

3. Mann Fleece Oil Filter

4. Magnecor's KV85 Competition (8.5mm) Spark Plug Wires

5. DENSO IK16 Iridium Spark Plugs

6. Bosch Ford Lightning I/C Pump swap

7. SpeedTuning USA ECU Tune w/Speed Limiter Removal

Let me say thanks to 1FastC32 for his excellent write up on the I/C pump fix

Thanks to all the members on the forum for numerous suggestions and discussions. After two trips to the dealer about the I/C pump failure and lack of power, I said the heck with them and went about researching potential fixes on MBWorld. The problems that I had were all discussed by various members in the AMG forums. Two of the biggest complaints I had were that I could never get the car past 140mph (it was like the car hit a wall and completely stop pulling) and the fact that after one high speed pull, the car completely bogged down and would not shift properly. I was very unhappy with the car at this point since I knew that it was capable of performing much better. The dealer basically said they could do nothing to verify high speed performance and refused to fix anything.

The best part of this story is that all this was done for under $1K and several hours of my time.