S55 AMG, S65 AMG , S63 AMG (W220, W221) 2001 - 2013 (Two Generations)

2004 S55 - Any information/guidance on motor mount replacement?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-06-2013, 09:07 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
S55K AMG
2004 S55 - Any information/guidance on motor mount replacement?

Hello all

The car was beginning to get very annoying to drive with a constant humming, hard suspension and general vibrations.

Just changed the Pulsation Damper a few days ago and what a difference that has made. The humming has gone and the suspension is feeling soft again. But the vibrations are still there.

Had it checked and sure enough the motor mounts seem to have failed. Was looking at replacing these but theres very very little information on how to go about changing them, just that the left one seems to be harder than the right one.

Has anyone got any clearer information on how to go about doing it?

Im a DIY mechanic and my friend is a full time mechanic so we're sure we can do this, but just need a few pointers. Will also replace the tranny mount at the same time i think.

Any help would be mostly appreciated.
Old 06-10-2013, 06:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
s55 AMG
Any updates, b/c I'm in the same boat as you?

Did you ever change out your Motor Mounts and Tranny mount as well? I'm stuck in a dilemma as well, whether to tackle this job with a help of my friend or just find a reliable indy shop to do it for me. I found some info on the benzworld.org website..................

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w220...ement-diy.html

Did you do yours the same way as it was described? Also how long did it take for your to complete it?
Thanks in advance for your input.
Old 06-10-2013, 11:38 PM

S55K AMG