SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Questions with splicing into bose system

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-26-2010, 09:23 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
03 SL500(Sold), 09 C300, 11 E550
Questions with splicing into bose system

Decided to start configuring how I will be going about my new audio install. My first concern is the terrible bass with this bose system so this weekend I tore down the passenger foot well to see what is going on with the stock sub.

I am by no means a professional but I have a basic knowledge, and i'm trying to learn as i go. All of my friends are saying you can't just start splicing wires when you have a bose system but to me it looks like any other stock sub hookup that I've seen before?

My first question is Can i splice the connector seen in the bottom right hand corner of this pic and run some wires to the trunk for the sub enclosure I'm building? Id like to keep the stock bose sub where it is as well as add bump in the trunk.

In regards to hooking up the amp, Where exactly is the RCA output on the back of the stock deck? Also, do i need to remove the face to get at it or can it be reached by removing the side paneling in the passenger foot well? I really don't want to touch the center console so if i have to remove the face plate I may just bring it to a shop to get the Cables for the amp run...

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited by Late; 09-26-2010 at 09:38 AM.
Old 09-26-2010, 09:35 AM
Administrator

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts
MPG+ ROLFCOPTER
1) Its bass and not base
2) Very few factory subs look oval and tiny like that.
3) Why would you want RCA inputs when you need outputs to hook up an amp?

$0.02
Old 09-26-2010, 09:39 AM

edited thanks!

Yea that thing is uber tiny... it's definitely the sub though because the enclosure is ported. I have read the AMG Fan thread a couple of times too

Last edited by Late; 09-26-2010 at 09:44 AM.
Old 09-27-2010, 10:16 AM