SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: I'm Stumped!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2016, 06:01 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1993 mercedes benz SL500
I'm Stumped!!!

I purchased a SL55 AMG with 74K miles last January. Car was maintained pretty well and is in excellent condition. I have been turning wrenches for 50 years and maintain my own vehicles except for rebuilding transmissions. I leave that up to the pros. I changed the motor oil last weekend and drove to Vegas and back 500 miles round trip with no issues. I drained the transmission, put the fluid in a gallon container, marked the amount with a sharpie. I removed the pan and found what seemed to be the original transmission fluid. Looked bad and smelled bad, but no signs of excessive particles. Service records indicated "no" service to the transmission. I put the new filter and fresh transmission fluid with the same amount I had previously removed. At this point I decided to do a complete flush after watching a YouTube Video. Seemed simple enough. With my son's help, I proceeded to remove the lower transmission line that goes to the radiator, fired the engine and nothing came out of the transmission. So I reinstalled the lower line and removed the upper line. Same thing, after firing the engine nothing came out. I wanted to do a complete flush. I didn't purchase Mercedes transmission fluid, instead I used a well known brand with Mercedes specs. Now I have one great big problem. The transmission won't shift. I started the car and let it worm up and still nothing. Is it because I didn't use Mercedes transmission fluid?? Where did I go wrong and how do I fix my mistakes. Sure need your help. jc
Old 03-02-2016, 08:40 AM

Received 94 Likes on 69 Posts
2012 E350 4Matic P2
Sounds like transmission is empty of fluid. Are you sure that you installed the new fluid into the correct fill tube??