SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Is removing exhaust/ cat on sl65 DIY?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-18-2016, 02:23 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
SL65
Is removing exhaust/ cat on sl65 DIY?

Sorry if there is a write up on these topics already but I can't seem to find anything can anybody please post a link?

- how would one go about removing exhausts ?

-is a cat delete on a sl65 going to bring extra Hp? My exhaust shop says they help spool up the turbos and doing so will make it go slower.

I am no expert on these cars exhausts systems any valuable information much appreciated on this topic
Old 02-18-2016, 03:35 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,050 Likes on 972 Posts
1999 E300TD
Not a problem----Comes out in one piece therefore have a lift and some sort of support system or bla bla bla!!
Old 02-18-2016, 03:42 PM

SL65
Originally Posted by Plutoe
Not a problem----Comes out in one piece therefore have a lift and some sort of support system or bla bla bla!!
Would removal be from the top and bottom? Or just bottom? Could it be done using a jack under car or will it need to go much higher ?
Old 02-18-2016, 07:15 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,050 Likes on 972 Posts
1999 E300TD
Well if you want to remove it from the top---simply first remove the engine---raise the lift to 12 feet, tie a chain around the exhaust and lower the lift thus removing the exhaust from the top---removing from the bottom is more fun--if you don't have a lift then rent a backhoe and dig a six foot deep trench and with you in the trench drive the car over the trench and let the exhaust fall in the trench!!
Old 02-18-2016, 08:24 PM

SL65
Originally Posted by Plutoe