SL-Class (R231) 2013 on: Discussion on the SL550

SL/R231: 2013 SL 550 Meisterschaft install.....

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-12-2014, 11:02 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2010 HARLEY FLHTK, 2013 SL550, 2014 S63
Smile 2013 SL 550 Meisterschaft install.....

Hello All,

New to the forum but like to ask and share my experience with Meisterschaft R231 catback install experience:

Purchased the R231 catback system from VIVID RACING, (no explanation non what so ever from VIVID that system is custom build and it'll take 10 days to build and ship), it arrived about 10 or 11 days after I ordered it, no worries but company that brags about customer satisfaction should have informed their buyers/customers about the custom build little better....ooh well.....)

I have a buddy who works at MB as a service tech, I asked him to do the install, (supposebly should have been bolt on install, according to GTHAUS), anyways the day of the install, he cuts the factory pipes to fit the new catback, but he discovers that, either VIVID sends the wrong catback's to us, or GTHAUS builds them wrong, catback's are stamped for AMG's (the diameters are bigger, clamps wont close the gap), which is a nice free $3000 upgrade (I GUESS), but they don't fit to 2013 R231, so, now they need to be flanged up, to fit right, which is a another delay.....now, her is the million dollar question to y'all who has experience with this kind of install, did they send us the correct pipes or did they really make a mistake.....any comments would be appreciated.....(if I missed any info please fell free to add or ask what I missed, I'm not too technical and don't assume I know all...) )

Thanks in advance to all...
Old 04-15-2014, 01:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2021 Mercedes GLC 43 AMG
First, welcome to the forum.