SL-Class (R231) 2013 on: Discussion on the SL550

SL/R231: 2017 SL Long Term Storage

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-11-2020, 11:37 AM

Received 115 Likes on 74 Posts
2017 SL450, 2017 Ford Expedition, 2007 CLK 550, 2019 Buick Enclave
2017 SL Long Term Storage

We may leave our SL in storage in the garage for about 5 months. This is dependent on Covid and whether we continue our plans for the winter.

I am asking experts here sbout this just to get prepared for the storage of the vehicle and any peculiarities with the SL. IF you were leaving your SL in storage for a while, what cautions would you take?? Anything you can think of would be appreciated. I am going to use this to make a checklist. I have read about battery trickle chargers and one that MB offers and the battery situation with the SL which is a little odd to my experience with other cars.

Any real life experiences or suggestions in a "storage for SL dummies" format would be great. I am still learning about this car and where things are and how they work...thanks.
The following users liked this post:
MikeSL (11-15-2020)
Old 11-11-2020, 01:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 375 Likes on 327 Posts
Only MBs - the best or nothing
I do not think there's anything special about SL storage vs. any other car: full tank of quality gas with proper amount of Stabil (1oz/2.5g, or about 8ozs per SL tank), set tire pressure to max on tires' sidewall (most SL OEM tires are 50psi), ideally put a lot of padding under tires to resist flat spotting, trickle charger (or disconnect battery if unable to trickle charge) and indoor car cover.
Old 11-11-2020, 03:04 PM

Received 161 Likes on 135 Posts
S560/LS460/Q70L 5.6 AWD
I have done this ( and still doing it ) on both my CL and SL for the last couple of years, just put a trickle charger on the main batteries, no problems whatsoever. I’m starting the cars once in a while but that is about it.
Old 11-11-2020, 05:58 PM

Received 163 Likes on 113 Posts