SL/R231: Step by Step Window Switch replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-16-2023, 08:44 AM

Received 202 Likes on 130 Posts
SL 400
Step by Step Window Switch replacement

Hello all.

It amazes me just how many car brands struggle with plastic switches and buttons. These buttons, etc. seem to wear down, chip, or scratch more often than they should. Even some very expensive exotic brands have had issues with buttons becoming sticky, or getting a melted look and feel. Anyway, my drivers side window switch was scratched/chipped up and looked bad.They do sell stickers to cover switches and buttons, but that wasn't for me. FYI I forgot to take pictures of this install, so I went back and did the steps over to grab pictures for you. That is why you do not see the damaged switch in the removal pics. I already had swaped it with the new switch.

Disclaimer - I am not a car expert and have only worked on my cars in my garage as I feel confident in doing so. I was willing to try this on MY CAR, because I am that kinda guy, but you have to make your own choices. I am not responsible for any fitment, or functionality issues. Damages, or injury that may occur to you, your car, your systems, or persons when attempting this installation. Attempt this modification at your own risk. I did and I am so happy I did. I hope this helps you!

Let's get started.....(Time to complete- 5 minutes)

Here is how the old switch looked. It started with a little white scratch and the chips/scratches progressed over the years to what you see below. Blah/Yuk.

The new unit arrived in a simple box and plastic bag, nothing special.You can get this from MB, but they are available online at multiple places for some cost savings.

First
Let's remove the door trim.
Simply grab the center area and pull it out a little.
There are tabs along the backside and on each ends of the trim, but the ones on the far left and far right ends are the only ones you have to be careful with.