SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Question from a Newbie...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-22-2006, 01:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Question from a Newbie...

Hello, I'm a newbie in the Mercedes Benz world. I'm on the waiting list for a 997TT which by the way is a looooooong list alright. After a test drive in a 2007 SL550 last night, I think I'm changing my mind and contemplating on ordering a SL55 AMG which I was told by the dealer could take 90 days.

I've been to this site and others, read a lot of posts and am learning quite a lot from this forum. I still am not that familiar with the different model nomenclature such as R230, W220, W221, etc.

One immediate question I have as I'm trying to configure what I want on the SL55 AMG is option 030 which is roughly $14K. Isn't the AMG package already in the SL55 AMG? If not, then what is extra if you get the 030 package? Are these extras worth the $14K?

Thanks in advance...

bari
Old 07-22-2006, 01:06 AM
Almost a Member!

'04 M3 & '05 645ci
The AMG package is already in the SL55. The 030 is the performance package which includes new 19" wheels & tires, upgraded differential, firmer "Nurburgring" suspension, "Safety" front apron, alcantara steering wheel, 186mph top speed and AMG Compound brakes
Old 07-22-2006, 07:52 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
I think 030 also includes the LSD, I know it does on the W219.
Old 07-22-2006, 12:15 PM

SL55 AMG Black on Berry Red
Originally Posted by Choson1
The AMG package is already in the SL55. The 030 is the performance package which includes new 19" wheels & tires, upgraded differential, firmer "Nurburgring" suspension, "Safety" front apron, alcantara steering wheel, 186mph top speed and AMG Compound brakes
• AMG front apron with larger cooling air intakes
• Additional engine oil cooler