SLK-Class (R170) 1998-2003: SLK 200, SLK 230K, SLK 320

SLK/R170: 1998 SLK 230, if you have owned and driven for long time PLEASE help me out.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-18-2006, 12:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 SLK 230, if you have owned and driven for long time PLEASE help me out.

First of all I'm just a student so I don't have lost of money, if any. I have always like cars, specially roadsters and sports cars. I have owned a 1992 BMW 3 series and I had a horrible experience with a low milage car, and left me broke. Then I bought a 1993 MIATA that was Salvage, and I got it for cheap, with 80k, I never saw a MECHANIC, I put around 40k on it. MY LOVED STARTED WITH LITTLE ROADSTERS because of the Miata.
MY third car in College was a 1994 gsx eclipse,with 60k and drove it until 120 miles, and I NEVER SAW A MECHANIC, SERIOUSLY. Then I bought a modified 1996 Mistubishi eclipse, the car had 90k on the engine, and now has just been sold, with 150 miles. I owned that car for 5 years, and It was my every day car. I had the most wonderful experience with Mitsubishis and they are not the BEST Japanese cars. I guess HONDA and Toyota are more reliable.I have only change BREAKS and and timing belt on that car. NEVER SAW A MECHANIC.
Recently I purchase a BMW Z3 on autotrader 1.9. The car had 89k and I bought it for 9,000 dollars. It had M rims so I thought it was a steal. it looked great, and I always wanted a European car. and all I have to say it was CRAP, was so unrealiable, and the ROOF LEAKED!, so I had to sell it. I spend about 1800 dollars in a year fixing that car. I put 18k and someone bought it for 7500, you can imagine I lost money.
NOW I'm THINKING ON A BENZ slk 230 USED with around 80K that they sell for 13500. the car seems in good condition. I'm just in love with the looks and the folding roof.