SLK55 (R171) 2004 - 2010: SLK200K, SLK280, SLK350, SLK55, SLK55 Black Series

performance package info please

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-24-2006, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c32
performance package info please

I have been driving an slk55 for about 6 months now...I love everything about it, especially the engine...however, we just got a 650 bmw and im starting to have doubts about the handling on the slk55. I really love the car though so I was thinking about maybe just trading the slk for another one in a different color and with the performance package.

When I drive the 650ci it really feels like your connected to the road and the car is an extension of yourself. I have been a benz guy since i was 16, have driven nothing but mercedes. So my question is what how does the performance package better the handling? How is it different? Any comments?

I want to keep the slk but i want great handling as well.
Old 04-24-2006, 07:09 PM

2006 Brabus B55 (Brabus Modified SLK55)
Call BRABUS and ask about their LSD (Limited Slip Differential). You may not need to get an entirely new car. Also, BRABUS offers two other engine mods - the B55 or a complete engine displacement to 6.0 liters, 450 bhp.
Old 04-24-2006, 07:22 PM

Too many to list
The best thing to improve the handling on any car is to reduce unsprung weight and get better tires.

THe 030 adds heavier wheels which is counterinuititive.

Your handing will be much better if you got lightweight wheels and some adjustable coilovers such as the KW variant3s.

The 030 adds nothing to benefit performance. Revalved shocks and heavier wheels ain't going to do jack squat.

But the SLK is still much lighter than a 650ci. I can't see how that overweight car would handle better than a stock SLK55. Maybe it depends on what you define as handling.

Steering feel and lateral grip often have poor correllation.
Old 04-24-2006, 08:06 PM

c32