Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New (to me) 1999 E-55 AMG - Introduction/Build Thread

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-05-2014, 12:31 PM

Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts
2015 Chevy Suburban, 2017 GLS450 4MATIC, 1993 Chevy Corvette
Hey Gents - I am new to the w210 platform but not new to Mercedes. I just picked up a black 1999 E-55 AMG with 170,000 miles on the clock today. Body is sound (no rust and very minimal paint bubbling), engine appears to be solid (with service records to prove regular maintenance), transmission appears to be solid (serviced once at 90,000 miles - due for another service), and the interior is in decent shape. The reason I felt comfortable purchasing it with such high miles was that it has a solid maintenance history at MB dealers all the way through 160,000 miles, and because it was actually driven actively by the prior owner (PO) so I knew it was in decent operating condition. Because I bought it for so cheap, I didn't do a PPI. This was Craigslist find and I felt comfortable walking away with it for below KBB/NADA values. The

The vehicle is sound mechanically but needs a lot of cosmetic fixes. I figured I would start a build thread for this vehicle since I have brought a number of my Jeeps back from the brink of death by replacing parts and improving aspects, but never documented the progress. Hopefully I can actually follow through on my good intentions and actually continue to post updates as I go.

I'll post pics later (nothing you haven't seen - black exterior on black interior (it kind of looks like it has two tone leather with a black leather with blue inserts? Was that even an option?).

I went straight to the inspection station in VA. The inspector was a new guy at the place I normally go and let me walk around under the vehicle with him. Unfortunately, he failed it for the following four (4) items: